Placita De Florez was inaugurated on January 25, 1891, on land donated by Mr. Rafael Flórez, hence its name. La Placita de Flórez is located in the commune 10 of the central sector of Medellin.
Initially, it was known as Mercado de Oriente (East Market), because the farmers from Santa Elena and the municipalities of this region of Antioquia used to go there to sell and buy food. Later, it was called Plaza de Buenos Aires. In 1953 it was given the name of Plaza de Flórez and in 2005 it was given its current corporate image as Placita De Florez.
Among the many uses that have been given to the building, there are some curiosities. For example for years it was a police headquarters, it served as a bullfighting circus, and as such was the scene of many bullfights. It was also used for some time to a group of nuns to install a convent. Its new construction was inaugurated in 1955.
Placita De Florez was the first covered market square to be built in Colombia. Coincidentally, it turned into the market of the flowers cultivated by the farmers of the village of Santa Elena that years later gave rise to the traditional parade of silleteros.
Many people mistakenly believe that the name of the market refers to the roses and geraniums that are sold there. But the sign clearly says Flórez with a Z and not with an S. This is where the traditional silletero parade began and is now a national and international fair that the paisa community proudly celebrates between July and August, yes the Feria de las Flores.
La Placita de Flórez was declared a historic asset of cultural interest of the Municipality due to its architectural, urban, historical, and testimonial quality.